Skip to content

The Narnia Code Book Contest!

June 23, 2012

I have copies of The Narnia Code by Dr. Michael Ward to giveaway! Three people will win a single copy of the book. All you have to do is…

Leave a comment below where is says “Leave a Reply.”

In the comment you must answer any one of the follow questions:

  1. What is your favorite book (or books) BY C.S. Lewis?

    – OR –

  2. What is your favorite book ABOUT C.S. Lewis (by another author)?

    – OR –

  3. Who would you like to hear interviewed on All About Jack?

That’s all you have to do…answer ONE of the questions in the comment area below. (but you can answer more than one if want to).

Everyone who enters will be assigned a number and three random numbers will be picked. You have until Thursday morning, 6 a.m. (Eastern time) on June 28th to enter.

And don’t forget about the upcoming short-term series with Dr. Michael Ward on The Narnia Code starts Monday, June 25th!

If you didn’t listen to the preview of the first show just follow this link:

PREVIEW FIRST SHOW

ADDITIONAL DETAILS

This series will be weekly and consist of twelve main shows (one for each chapter of the book), plus there will be at least one “Q&A” show featuring questions from listeners about the book! During the series Dr. Ward will focus mostly on The Narnia Code, but mention will also be made from time-to-time about the earlier book Planet Narnia and some of the additional content it contains as well as the DVD version of the BBC special that was on TV.

Dr. Holly Ordway did a review on her site about Planet Narnia; it is especially good for those who are wondering what this is all about.

Also, if you missed my interview with Dr. Ward from All About Jack consider listening to it for an overview of The Narnia Code.

WANTED: YOUR QUESTIONS
(Yes, that means YOU!)

Be sure to listen in to learn about the hidden layer in the Narnian stories. If you have already read the book and have questions you can go ahead and send them now. Just leave a comment below or send it to info@essentialcslewis.com.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Lenore Wilkison permalink
    June 23, 2012 7:20 pm

    My favorite CSL book is That Hideous Strength

  2. Marie Wise permalink
    June 23, 2012 7:57 pm

    My Favorite books by Lewis are of course the Chronicles (since second grade)
    .
    My favorite book about Lewis is Jack A Life of C. S. Lewis by George Sawyer.

    I wasn’t sure were to put The Quoatable Lewis by Martindale and Root. It was my steady companion at Indiana University. :o)

  3. Pat Robinson permalink
    June 24, 2012 8:23 am

    “The Screwtape Letters” is one of Lewis’ most interesting books. It’s such a thought provoking look into a different angle of Christianity and the evils that fight against it. I enjoy it best as a audiobook, and especially have enjoyed a copy read by John Cleese. His voice inflections bring the letters to life, and truly make you feel Wormwood’s possible reactive emotions as he is either commended or chastised for his actions.

  4. Bonnie Maukonen permalink
    June 24, 2012 10:10 am

    “A Grief Observed” helped me a lot when my fiance passed away suddenly. Lewis wrote this after losing his wife, and his stepson wrote the Introduction.

  5. June 24, 2012 11:20 am

    Oh it’s so hard for me to have a favorite book of C.S. Lewis, I love each and everyone I have ever read! I think though my favorite of his fiction books would be Out of the Silent Planet. I love the Hrossa!

  6. Evelina Söderström permalink
    June 24, 2012 4:58 pm

    I just LOVE The Chronicles of Narnia, and the very best one is The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. I haven’t read any books about Lewis yet except Shadowlands, which I thought was very interesting! I can’t wait to take another step into his magical world!!

  7. Rod Jenkins permalink
    June 24, 2012 5:21 pm

    My favorite book is Mere Christianity, as it began my trip to Christ. But I have enjoyed all the rest i’ve read since then.

  8. June 25, 2012 9:34 am

    My favorite biography about Lewis is “Jack A Life of C. S. Lewis” by George Sawyer.
    But my favorite Lewis book… it is impossible to choose a favorite. My favorite book in the Space Trilogy is probably Perelandra. Of course I love the Chronicles of Narnia, but can’t really choose one favorite out of those seven! If pressed I usually say The Last Battle for the ending… But of course Til We Have Faces is one of my favorites overall…

  9. June 25, 2012 12:06 pm

    Since I can’t say “every Lewis book I’ve ever read,” I’ll say my favorites are “The Chronicles of Narnia” and “The Screwtape Letters”.

  10. Eileen Pheiffer permalink
    June 25, 2012 3:32 pm

    Count me in for Mere Christianity…. the book that helped my faith take roots. Thanks for this podcast — look forward to each of them.

  11. Linda Capozzoli permalink
    June 25, 2012 3:51 pm

    Favorite book at the moment is “The Great Divorce” especially because George MacDonald shows up as our guide near the bus stop. As for an interview, you could contact Dr. Paul F. Ford who wrote “Companion to Narnia.”

  12. Kathy permalink
    June 26, 2012 4:29 pm

    1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
    2. Jack by George Sayers
    3. Douglas Gresham

  13. June 27, 2012 11:42 am

    1. I think it would be The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, cuz the first books of all the series that I know were the best 🙂

  14. June 27, 2012 5:46 pm

    I would love to hear Douglas Gresham interviewed!

  15. July 8, 2012 3:30 pm

    Thanks again to everyone who entered the contest. Now that all the winner who were contact have responded I can announce who the winner were:
    1.) Marie Wise
    2.) Kathy
    3.) hannahlandis
    4.) Jef Murray

  16. Marie Wise permalink
    July 9, 2012 10:28 am

    Thank you so, so much. My book arrived and I am digging in. I might have to do some written responses on this one :o) ~Marie

    • July 9, 2012 6:53 pm

      Glad to hear it has arrived. I hope you enjoy and feel free to raise questions. I hope you have had a chance to listen to the podcast series…it makes a great companion to the book!

Trackbacks

  1. 01 The Narnia Code Series (with Dr. Michael Ward) « C.S. Lewis Minute

Leave a Reply

