Skip to content

057 – Naming a Trilogy

July 26, 2012

    Listen to as PODCAST:LM057 – Naming a Trilogy 


When it comes to naming the three books in C.S. Lewis’s other series you can pick from FOUR names!

Prior to the release of the seven books in The Chronicle of Narnia Lewis had another series that was released between 1938 and 1945. While it took eight long years for this trilogy to be published it has taken much longer to decide what to call it. Individually these books are known as Out of the Silent Planet, the first book, Perelandra is the middle one, and That Hideous Strength is the final story.

While officially it is now called “The Cosmic Trilogy” it has also been known as the “Space Trilogy.” Some call it the “Ransom Trilogy” because he is in all three books and personally I think of it as Lewis’s “Science Fiction Trilogy.

Tell me the name you like to use for this series! Leave your comment below.


Learn More:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 3:14 pm

    This series is what introduced me to Lewis while I was attending the University of Washington in the mid-seventies. Called it the Space Trilogy then, and that’s still what sounds most familiar to me. However, I don’t care what people call it if they read it!

    • July 26, 2012 6:03 pm

      Yea, it doesn’t really matter to me, either. My hope was to write a fun (even silly) piece to draw attention to the books and as a result encourage people to read them.

  2. August 3, 2012 10:47 pm

    I thoroughly enjoy the Ransom Trilogy; have not heard it called the Cosmic Trilogy until now. It’s the Ransom Trilogy.


  1. New Summary: Minutes #51-60 « C.S. Lewis Minute

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: