Skip to content

058 – Researching Lewis

August 2, 2012

    Listen to as PODCAST:LM058 – Researching Lewis 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A great number of works have been release that enable you to do a lot of research on Lewis at home, however, if you don’t have all that is published or want more you just have to head to Wheaton College.

When it first began in February of 1965, it was simply known as the C.S. Lewis Collection. Over the years it has grown to include the works of six other British authors, including J.R.R. Tolkien and Dorothy Sayers. Located West of Chicago, The Marion E. Wade Center is a part of Wheaton College and in 2015 will be celebrating its 40th anniversary.

It’s impossible to experience all they have on Lewis in a day, let along the other authors. Specific to Lewis they have his published works, original typed or handwritten manuscripts as well as books, journals and unpublished research dedicated to his life and writings.

Have you been to the Marion E. Wade Center? Tell me about your visit with your comments below.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Learn More:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2012 9:26 am

    I loved my experience there! Here’s my review: http://apilgriminnarnia.com/2012/06/12/the-marion-e-wade-center-an-archive-review/.

  2. August 2, 2012 12:28 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your review, Brenton (and from a fellow Canadian too :D). For a few decades now, I have been longing to visit the Wade Center, and hope to travel there with my family in the next couple of years. (It also helps that there are a few NarniaWebbers in that area who would be amazing to meet.) My love of Lewis’ and Tolkien’s writings compel me, of course. 🙂 Related, elsewhere I would dearly like to visit is The Kilns, Oxford, and sit in the Rabbit Room at the Bird and Baby pub. Someday, possibly …

  3. August 3, 2012 1:01 am

    Sadly, I’ve not been there. I hoped to visit the library while I was stationed at Scott AFB, IL (across the Mississippi from St. Louis). Unfortunately, the death of a wing chaplain in California–and my swift reassignment to replace him–scuttled those plans.

  4. August 3, 2012 12:59 pm

    I have had the privilege of studying at the Wade twice. (I’m the poet Brenton mentions in his review).Here are three blog posts about my experiences this time around:
    http://iambicadmonit.blogspot.com/2012/06/wade-report-1-musings-on-providence.html
    http://iambicadmonit.blogspot.com/2012/06/wade-report-2-text.html
    http://iambicadmonit.blogspot.com/2012/06/wade-report-3-themes.html

Trackbacks

  1. Marion wade | Imageyoo
  2. New Summary: Minutes #51-60 « C.S. Lewis Minute

Leave a Reply

