Skip to content

Win The Christian World of The Hobbit

September 22, 2012

Get a chance to win an autographed copy of The Christian World of The Hobbit (U.S. residents only) by simply leaving a comment below about what you like best about Tolkien’s book The Hobbit. Deadline to enter is Sunday, Sept. 23rd at 6 p.m. Eastern. Five random individuals from those who enter  will be the winners!

This is a new book by Devin Brown, author of Inside Narnia and two other books about Narnia. The Christian World of The Hobbit won’t go on sale until next month, but you can win it now!

Here’s the table of contents of the book:

  • Introduction
  • Chapter I: An “Essentially” Christian Story
  • Chapter II: “Luck of an Unusual Kind”: Providence in The Hobbit
  • Chapter III: “Very Good for You”: Purpose in The Hobbit
  • Chapter IV: “I Don’t Think I Ought To”: The Moral Landscape in The Hobbit
  • Chapter V: Response and Legacy
  • Reference List

Also, don’t forget you can hear an exclusive interview with the author, Devin Brown over at the All About Jack podcast page.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul Blackham permalink
    September 22, 2012 3:56 pm

    The best thing about The Hobbit is how Bilbo grows to exceed everyone’s expectations of him, including his own; even Gandalf’s.

  2. Bethany permalink
    September 22, 2012 4:24 pm

    The thing I love about the Hobbit when compared to the Lord of the Rings is it’s innocence. There’s a fun, lighthearted-ness about it that makes it a joy to read. While I also love LotR, it’s because of the above that the Hobbit holds a special place in my heart.

  3. Riley permalink
    September 22, 2012 4:26 pm

    I’ve always loved the character of Bilbo Baggins. That, coupled with The Hobbit being my first Tolkien novel gives The Hobbit a special place in my bookshelf. Thanks for doing the giveaway guys!

  4. Steve permalink
    September 22, 2012 5:21 pm

    “and not for the last time!”

  5. Daniel Roberts permalink
    September 22, 2012 5:42 pm

    the thing I loved about the book was that it was a story about getting out of ones comfort zone. For Bilbo (and many other hobbits), going on adventures is completely mad, but Bilbo did the unthinkable and went out of his comfort zone, which is very inspiring for a frightened introvert individual like myself.

  6. Danielle permalink
    September 22, 2012 5:50 pm

    My dad bought me The Hobbit and all of the LotR when I was in middle school, and I read all of them by the time the last movie came out. The Hobbit woke a deep respect and adoration of Tolkein and his Middle Earth. I was an English major in college, and took a Middle English and Old English course, which gave me an even better understanding of how intelligent Tolkein was, and how much he thought about the background and history of his books, as well as the amazing evolution of his languages! I have reread The Hobbit more times than the trilogy because it grabs and holds my attention for longer periods of time. Also, as Bethany says, it does have more of an innocence to it, and I always love returning to the world of Middle Earth again and again! Thank you Tolkein and Happy Hobbit Day all!! =)

  7. September 22, 2012 5:52 pm

    The best part in the book The Hobbit is right before Thorin dies he says to Bilbo the following quote: “Farewell, good thief, I go now to the halls of waiting to sit beside my fathers, until the world is renewed. Since I leave now all gold and silver, and go where it is of little worth, I wish to part in friendship from you, and I would take back my words and deeds at the Gate.” It’s really sad that he dies but its one of the best quotes ever and it really shows that deep down Thorin did care about Bilbo and that he and Bilbo would have had a lasting friendship had he lived. It’s as I said sad but still very beautiful. J. R. R. Tolkien you are a Genius!

  8. Matthew Brinkley permalink
    September 22, 2012 5:58 pm

    i love the last part of the book

  9. September 22, 2012 6:09 pm

    I was in High School when first introduced to the world of Tolkien. My girlfriend was reading The Hobbit and suggested I read it. I had always avoided reading anything I didn’t have to but I agreed to reluctantly. I became engrossed in the book and felt sad when I finished. Then my girlfriend told me the good news… The Hobbit was only the beginning! After that I became an avid reader. My taste in books has changed over the years but The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings got me started.

  10. Rose permalink
    September 22, 2012 6:09 pm

    Favorite thing about The Hobbit is Bilbo’s pessimistic and sometimes oddly polite acceptance of his adventure.

  11. September 22, 2012 6:16 pm

    The best thing I like about The Hobbit is how Bilbo thinks he does not have a purpose in life but throughtout the course of the book he realizes that he like the rest of us have a destiny to change the world for the better.

  12. Joshua permalink
    September 22, 2012 6:23 pm

    I love the grand adventure of the book. I remember reading the Hobbit (Illustrated Edition) back in high school and being engulfed in ever minute of it! Not to mention it was my first Tolkien book!

  13. September 22, 2012 6:46 pm

    Tolkien’s imagination and ability to imprint his work with important values is definitely noteworthy.

  14. Gwen permalink
    September 22, 2012 6:48 pm

    I love reading about Bilbo. He knows from the very beginning that he could never do what Gandalf expects him to do, but as the story progresses, he becomes very confident while still being humble.

  15. September 22, 2012 6:54 pm

    I like the Hobbit because its an amazing fantasy story and it was what got me into the Tolkien universe. The characters are fun and intruiging, the story is interesting and it has plenty of good life lessons (“Never laugh at live dragons!”) and sayings (“Escaping goblins to be caught by wolves!”). It was my first encounter with hobbits and paved my way to Lord of the Rings.

  16. September 22, 2012 6:57 pm

    The Hobbit is invaluable to the tales of Middle-Earth as it is the prelude to the Lord of the Rings trilogy. However, my favorite thing about The Hobbit is how Bilbo Baggins gets roped into this adventure by Gandalf and it impacts not only the rest of his life, but also radically changes the life of Frodo and those close to the younger hobbit. It’s always amazing to me how one person’s (or hobbit’s) life can impact so many others, and Bilbo is an excellent representation of that!

  17. Scaldis Mater permalink
    September 22, 2012 7:02 pm

    I like that Bilbo was forced from his comfort zone. Also that they ate a 2nd breakfast. Yum!

  18. Jasmine C. permalink
    September 22, 2012 7:04 pm

    I like how Bilbo finds the ring and escapes with it!

  19. Kristie Sigle permalink
    September 22, 2012 7:31 pm

    I loved The Hobbit book!! I loved knowing how it all started with the profesor. The imagery was amazing. I love all the Narnia books and this one to me tied them altogether.

    • Kristie Sigle permalink
      September 22, 2012 7:34 pm

      I feel really silly for I had it in my mind that this was Narnia. This book was the start of Lord of the Rings. Sorry about that. I enjoyed the book for the same reason for it explained the ring and who Bilbo was before the ring and what it did to him.

  20. Andy Denton permalink
    September 22, 2012 7:37 pm

    The best thing about the Hobbit is how it grows with you. When I was little my dad read it to me. Later I watched the animated movies, then I read it myself. It lead me to read the narnia series and read the letters between Tolkien and Lewis. But most of all at the heart of it its about someone who goes on a journey almost against his nature and changes him forever. Its about how we have to try new things to take advantage of what the world holds.

  21. Maggie Tu permalink
    September 22, 2012 8:26 pm

    I love the Hobbit! I actually read the Lord of the Rings before the Hobbit, but after reading the Hobbit, I understood the Lord of the Rings so much better!!

  22. Edward Trammell permalink
    September 22, 2012 8:28 pm

    Every time I read The Hobbit I yearn for a quest of my own. Even though a nice evening by the fire would be good too.

  23. Tom P permalink
    September 22, 2012 8:39 pm

    I like the structure and weaving of the plot, and the very English sensibility that wrote it. So many elements of the story would never have been included if it had been written in the States.

  24. Carl Olson permalink
    September 22, 2012 8:55 pm

    I finally read the Hobbit as an adult, after a misspent youth reading countless epic fantasies, and I thought, “The first…and still the best.” I had always thought it was a smaller novel than it turned out to be, but with a final battle of five armies, and Thorin’s heartbreaking end, it remains one of the most satisfying novels I have ever read.

  25. William Loggins permalink
    September 22, 2012 9:14 pm

    I was quite certain that the shire was just inside the woods next to our house and I had many wondrous adventures there with Bilbo.

  26. September 22, 2012 9:19 pm

    I love Tolkien’s writing style, like a grandfather telling the story by the fire. It’s funny because Tolkien actually said later that he didn’t like the style he used in the hobbit because he felt like it was “speaking down” to children. I liked it though!

    So many parts of the story I like, too, although the ending is always very bittersweet for me.

  27. Trina permalink
    September 22, 2012 9:36 pm

    Bilbo’s conversation with Smaug, particularly the long list of mysterious names!

  28. kathrynelaine permalink
    September 22, 2012 9:41 pm

    I love that the story is, at its core, a lighthearted adventure, yet still manages to communicate deep, abiding truth.

  29. Matthew Bracey permalink
    September 22, 2012 11:34 pm

    The best thing about The Hobbit is its motifs of courage and friendship. This is a world of characters who face their worst fears (and overcome them), and who discover that the worth of true friendship far exceeds all the treasures of the earth.

  30. Morgan permalink
    September 23, 2012 12:04 am

    every part in the Hobbit is awesome, along with all of the other LOTR books, but one of my favorite parts is when you first meet Tom Bombadill because he’s so merry

  31. Jonathan Fletcher permalink
    September 23, 2012 7:57 am

    My favorite thing about the Hobbit is the adventure of course! How else would they be able to pull 3 films from it?

  32. Caleb Lancaster permalink
    September 23, 2012 1:17 pm

    My favorite thing about the Hobbit is the fact that the magic in it and the magic in the Harry Potter books is so different. The magic in the Hobbit is good magic, and it all comes from One person (The Silmarillion) The magic in the HP books, however, is from the individual, and anyone, even evil villains, are able to use the magic for their own, black purposes.

  33. Joshua Cole permalink
    September 23, 2012 2:02 pm

    When I read the Hobbit, I love the fact that I feel like I’ve been on the adventure with them.

  34. September 23, 2012 2:24 pm

    I love the Hobbit because it’s like entering a whole new world. Even when you’ve read it and all it’s sequels, you get the idea that their are more stories there on the horizon. There is a whole history, not all of which is known. It’s entering a place where your passions are inspired, the emotions are stronger and you get to join in a real adventure.

  35. clarinetsrock457 permalink
    September 23, 2012 4:50 pm

    The thing I like best about The Hobbit is the comedy and the camaraderie of the dwarves and Bilbo. I also like the story throughout the journey as it goes on. Tolkien has a way of writing that he can write a book that he intended for children, but make it so much more than that as well. It is a nice book to read when you are board and want to escape from things for a bit.

  36. AlexA permalink
    September 23, 2012 4:57 pm

    Well, I agree with everyone here, so I can’t exactly pick what I liked best since the whole book is absolutely amazing! But personally it has helped me through a lot because in life we each get thrown into our own sort of challenges and adventures where we seem so small and the road seems nearly impossible, but then God gives us the strength and the courage and the people we need to help us along the way and overcome all those fears and bring us through the fire a stronger individual than we were before we left “the shire.” There’s so much more that could be said, but there it is in a nutshell 🙂

    • clarinetsrock457 permalink
      September 23, 2012 7:16 pm

      Well, said! I love how you made the comparison to God. Tolkien and Lewis were both Christians and wrote God-inspired books.

  37. Jon Tollerton permalink
    October 16, 2012 9:51 am

    The fish out of water nature of a Hobbit out on the road.

  38. September 27, 2013 10:24 am

    The contest ENDED 9/23/2013

Leave a Reply

