Skip to content

Win a Copy of “On the Shoulders of Hobbits” Book

October 16, 2012

Get a chance to win a copy of On the Shoulders of Hobbits, the new book by Dr. Louis Markos (sorry, U.S. & Canadian residents only). This book actually discusses both Tolkien AND C.S. Lewis (the subtitle is The Road to Virtue with Tolkien and Lewis) by also discussing the Narnia stories.

All you have to do to enter is simply leave a comment below about who your favorite character (or characters) are from either series of books. Deadline to enter is Thursday, October 18th at 6 p.m. Eastern.

Five random individuals from those who enter will be the winners! You will be notified by email, so leave an address you check frequently (it will be from lewisminute (at) gmail.com).

Be sure to check out the interview I did with Dr. Markos about this book; it can be found at my All About Jack podcast page.

Here’s the table of contents of the main parts of the book:

Part 1: The Road

  • Chapter 1 The Lure of the road
  • Chapter 2 responding to the Call
  • Chapter 3 Dangers on the road
  • Chapter 4 The End of the road

Part 2: The Classical Virtues

  • Chapter 5 The Courage to Endure
  • Chapter 6 Temperance and Tobacco
  • Chapter 7 The Wisdom that Discerns
  • Chapter 8 The Justice of the king

Part 3: The Theological Virtues

  • Chapter 9 rehabilitating Friendship
  • Chapter 10 The Eyes of Faith
  • Chapter 11 Hope and the Happy Ending
  • Chapter 12 The Love that Pities and Forgives

Part 4: Evil

  • Chapter 13 Forbidden Fruit
  • Chapter 14 Perversion and Corruption
  • Chapter 15 Blinded by the Light
  • Chapter 16 Egyptian alliances
46 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    October 16, 2012 8:03 am

    Gandalf is my favorite!

  2. October 16, 2012 8:36 am

    Lucy has always been one of my favorite characters from the Chronicles of Narnia – I love her sweet child-like faith, and how she struggles but still follows Aslan.

  3. becka42 permalink
    October 16, 2012 9:33 am

    Samwise Gamgee. Even in despair and circumstances beyond his comprehension, he remains steadfast and loyal.

  4. KarolienF permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:08 am

    My favourite character of the Narnia series is Lucy. She’s the only one of the original four that never stoped believing in Aslan. I love her for that.

  5. Tom VanOsdel permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:08 am

    Sam an Aragorn are my favorites out of the books. They both show loyalty beyond measure and a loving spirit.

  6. Bridgette Conboy permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:10 am

    Lucy is my favorite character, that is probably really stereotypical, but she embodies something that we all need, that child-like faith in God that can never die.

  7. October 16, 2012 10:12 am

    From Narnia, my favorite character is Reepicheep, and from LOTR, I concur with the post above – Sam is the number one hero of these books as far as I’m concerned! 🙂

  8. Alex permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:15 am

    From Narnia, I really loved Lucy. She is timeless.

  9. Kellye permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:16 am

    That is a tough one. I love Samwise Gamgee’s character, but Legolas is also my favorite. He is a stalwart friend, defender and a bridge to trust and friendship between the elves and dwarves.

  10. Venny16 permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:16 am

    Lucy Pevensie. I love her character and her just so big heart and her bravery . My favorite scene is when she meets Tumnus cause she is just so unbiased and friendly to him 🙂

  11. Ondrej permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:19 am

    Faramir for his honor, Lucy for connection of her feelings and decisions.

  12. Susan Montgomery permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:24 am

    My favorite character is Arwen. I love her spirit and determination.

  13. Zoe Koufalexi permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:27 am

    From Narnia, I love Mr. Tumnus and from LOTR my favorite one is Frodo. There are many reasons why he is the main hero and protagonist of the trilogy.

  14. Tael permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:39 am

    Aragorn, because he faced his past and took back what was his from the start.

  15. kristiane pereira permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:46 am

    My favorite character is Sam from LOTR, because he is the one who never gives up and is always there to carry and give strenght to Frodo. He is the best friend that every person wishes for.

  16. april61 permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:50 am

    Puddleglum: He is a a humble hero, at the right place at the right time. When he delivers his rebuttal to the Green Witch, his faith shines brightly. This is an encouragement to me in our world where “What is real?” is questioned by strong voices. Ironically, however, he habitually makes glum comments throughout the journey–just like I do in my life. Puddleglum makes me laugh at myself, reminds me to be humble, and gives me hope!

  17. Pam Sinclair permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:51 am

    LOTR Samwise Gamgee is my hero. He was loyal to the end and when he had to say goodby to Frodo my heart was breaking with his.

  18. Christa Scott permalink
    October 16, 2012 11:26 am

    I’m often torn between Puddleglum and Reepicheep as my favorite Narnian character. In Middle Earth it is a competition between Tom Bombadil, Farmer Maggot, Legolas and Gimli.

  19. Johannes Hallén permalink
    October 16, 2012 11:38 am

    Reepicheep has always been a big favourite, ever since my childhood! Thank God for Lewis and Tolkien! 🙂

  20. October 16, 2012 11:43 am

    My favorite character is Puddleglum i “The silverchair”. He is an anti-hero 🙂

  21. Brittany Grandaw permalink
    October 16, 2012 12:17 pm

    My favorite character from Narnia is Lucy. My favorite character from LOTR is Legolas. 🙂

  22. October 16, 2012 12:42 pm

    We long to be Peter, but we are all Edmund. My favorite character from Narnia is Edmund for his transformation. My favorite character in LOTR is Sam for his loyalty. I just happened to name my son Samuel Edmund.

  23. Paul Blackham permalink
    October 16, 2012 12:42 pm

    The true hero of the Lord of the Rings is Sam, the Everyman.

  24. Melanie Farley permalink
    October 16, 2012 1:17 pm

    I like Eowyn. She is very brave, and wants to fight for her country. She also says my favorite quote of the series, after the witch king says “Hinder me? Thou fool. No living man may hinder me!”
    Eowyn says, “But no living man am I! You look upon a woman. Éowyn I am, Éomund’s daughter. You stand between me and my lord and kin. Begone, if you be not deathless! For living or dark undead, I will smite you, if you touch him.”

  25. October 16, 2012 1:24 pm

    Fool of a Took! Love Pippin for his personality but especially his growth story.

  26. Brian Nebel permalink
    October 16, 2012 1:29 pm

    Meriadoc Brandybuck

  27. October 16, 2012 3:03 pm

    Sam and Lucy.

  28. Amber Mathewson permalink
    October 16, 2012 4:57 pm

    My favorite character from the Chronicles of Narnia is Lucy, by far!!

  29. October 16, 2012 6:34 pm

    So many wonderful characters in both series!
    Eowyn, Faramir, Aslan, Gandalf, Pippin…Aargh! I can’t pick. I’ll go with Eowyn.

  30. October 16, 2012 7:12 pm

    I have always been partial to Puddleglum from Narnia’s The Silver Chair, for although his view of the future is always a bit grim and negative (there’s always trouble ahead, and probably rain…), he holds on to his faith with a firm resolution, regardless of the situation.

  31. Steven permalink
    October 16, 2012 9:42 pm

    Man, I like almost everyone in the fellowship! I’ll have to go with Samwise Gamgee. He’s truly the best friend one could have, full of loyalty and encouragement and hope. I kind of relate to how he loves stories.

  32. kingscowboy permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:11 pm

    In the Chronicles of Narnia a few of my favorites are Aslan, the Professor and Puddleglum. In the Lord of The Rings it’s Gandalf.

  33. Bethany permalink
    October 16, 2012 11:26 pm

    Gandalf has always been a favorite of mine. He is noble and wise, but is also very down to earth, understanding and appreciating the simple things in life while dealing with the very complex.

  34. Zeth Dejager permalink
    October 16, 2012 11:47 pm

    My favorite character is Lucy, because she never gives up.

  35. Tianna permalink
    October 16, 2012 11:55 pm

    My favorite character is King Tirian from CS Lewis’ “The Last Battle.” He stays true to Aslan and what he believes, even when no one believes him. He fights for Aslan to the death.

  36. Joshua permalink
    October 17, 2012 12:13 am

    From the Narnia series, I really love Reepicheep for his courage and sense of excitement and anticipation for the Land Beyond The Sea!

  37. Carmen permalink
    October 17, 2012 12:31 am

    What tough choices! From ‘The Chronicles of Narnia’, the Pevensies are by far my favorites. Peter is so selfless; Susan is so kind (when she believes in Narnia that is!); Edmund is so inspiring; and Lucy has such childlike faith and trust! As for ‘The Lord of the Rings’, it’s a tough choice. However, my top five are Sam (who is the best friend anyone could ever ask for), Frodo (who was willing to give up everything for everyone else, even though he was scared to death), Pippin (who found his courage), Merry (who just wanted to help his friends), and Legolas (well… what can I say, he’s just so cool!). I suppose that if I had to narrow it down even more, though, and pick just one character from each world, Edmund and Sam would be the winners. Three cheers for Tolkien and Lewis, who wrote stories with such strong, moral characters that people can actually look up to!

  38. Jim Brown permalink
    October 17, 2012 5:58 am

    Eustace Scrubb is my favorite Narnia character as he reminds me of so many people I know, including myself.

  39. October 17, 2012 9:57 am

    Eustace Scrubb is probably my favorite character in Narnia. He starts out as a pain but he grows into a good young man. He represents all of us in some way or another. He learns to trust in Aslan and through his belief and understanding he becomes a better person. As a dragon he is helpful to his friends. He is kind to Jill Pole. Although he did not start out as my favorite character, he turned into my favorite through his growth and learning.

  40. Shad permalink
    October 17, 2012 9:58 am

    Sam and Digory.

  41. October 17, 2012 12:26 pm

    Sam Gamgee is my favourite character from Tolkien’s books. I love his simplicity, his humble nature, and his deep sense of loyalty. It’s not so easy to choose a favourite character from the Narnia books. Aslan of course, but also Lucy and Reepicheep and Edmund.

  42. Melanie permalink
    October 17, 2012 1:51 pm

    My favorite Narnia character is Lucy. She is so sweet and her trust in Aslan is very strong.

  43. October 18, 2012 4:15 am

    I really like Hwin from C.S. Lewis’ A Horse and His Boy. She had common sense coupled with gentleness and humility, and incredible fortitude. I love her faith and discernment in how she responded the first time she was in Aslan’s presence: “Please, you’re so beautiful. You may eat me if you like. I’d sooner be eaten by you than fed by anyone else.”

  44. Faith permalink
    October 18, 2012 6:04 am

    I’m from the Philippines and I know I’m not qualified to win, which is sad. But I just have to say this: that even though Narnia was not required reading in school when I grew up, I learned to appreciate Lewis’ works and what they mean and how they inspire me to go back to God’s word. I’ve read the Chronicles (all 7 books) voluntarily on my spare time. I only own so far a copy of The Last Battle and had to borrow the rest from friends in order to read them. I tried to complete my collection before but the times I check with the local bookstores, the books were almost always out of stock. My favorite is Lucy for her unwavering faith and of course, Aslan. He says lines that encourage me when times are dark in my life. I didn’t have the same luxury to read LOTR (I knew Tolkien & Lewis were good friends) but Gandalf and Galadriel are my favorites for reasons I can’t fully articulate except for if they were real and you are in their presence, you’d feel strong and able to pass life’s challenges and difficulties.

  45. October 18, 2012 1:29 pm

    Arien and Tilion from the The Silmarillion of course.
    How beautiful their story is. Everytime I see them in the same time on the sky, I remember that book. Beauty…

  46. October 18, 2012 9:56 pm

    Thanks to all who entered the contest…the names have been picked now and the winners are being contacted.

Leave a Reply

