Skip to content

Christmas Lewis Prize Pack Giveaway

November 28, 2012

Are you tired from all your Christmas shopping? Take a break and learn how you can win up to TWELVE (12) C.S. Lewis-themed (or related) books to add to your library. Please note, that as with my other giveaways, this contest is only open to residents of the U.S.  Also, the contest ends on Tuesday, December 4th at 6 p.m. (Eastern). With all that out of the way, let me first share what you can win before telling you how (details about each book are given at the end):

GOLD Prize
  1. The C.S. Lewis Reader’s Encyclopedia
  2. The Narnia Code
  3. Inside the Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  4. As One Devil to Another
  5. Looking for the King
  6. Into the Region of Awe
  7. The Most Reluctant Convert
  8. On the Shoulders of Hobbits
  9. C. S. Lewis: His Literary Achievement
  10. Speaking of Jack
  11. Views from Wake Forest (Essays on C.S. Lewis)
  12. Into the Wardrobe
  13. Two MP3-CDs containing All About Jack Interviews, Essay Chats and CSL Minutes
SILVER Prize
  1. Inside the Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  2. As One Devil to Another
  3. Looking for the King
  4. On the Shoulders of Hobbits
  5. C. S. Lewis: His Literary Achievement
  6. Hidden Story of Narnia
  7. C.S. Lewis Goes to Heaven (Study of The Great Divorce)
  8. Two MP3-CDs containing All About Jack Interviews, Essay Chats and CSL Minutes
 
BRONZE Prize
  1. Inside the Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  2. As One Devil to Another
  3. Looking for the King
  4. C. S. Lewis: His Literary Achievement
  5. Two MP3-CDs containing All About Jack Interviews, Essay Chats and CSL Minutes

“TWO Runner-Up” Winners

  • Each will win the Two MP3-CDs (and if someone doesn’t claim their prize pack they will get it!)

****HOW TO WIN****

Now that you know what you can win…here’s how you can win:

  • Leave a comment below telling me what your favorite book ABOUT C.S. Lewis is (optionally you can also say why). If you don’t have one then you can’t enter here. But have no fear you can still get a chance to win…if you do the following:
  • Visit this special page at my EssentialCSLewis.com site, the CONTEST page. Once there you will find out what to do to enter. Plus, you will be an instant winner of a special PDF booklet featuring the best of the C.S. Lewis Minute material (with some extras).
  • You can ALSO go to that page and make a second entry into the contest (if you were able to give an answer here).

Please note that prize packages are subject to change and they will arrive in several mailings and while every effort will be made to get it to you by Christmas there is no guarantee this will happen. ALSO, make sure you add this email address to you address book in case you win: lewisminute (at) gmail.com.

SPECIAL THANKS to the following for supplying the books: Dr. Bruce Edwards, Dr. David Downing, Dr. Devin Brown, Tyndale House, Moody Publishers and Bob Trexler from WingedLionPress.com

– – – – – –

Learn More About the Books (a link to the details at Amazon):

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2012 10:31 am

    Jack: A Life of C.S. Lewis by George Sayer is my favorite biography I have read on Lewis to date.

  2. November 28, 2012 10:36 am

    My favorite book about C.S. Lewis is “Not a Tame Lion” by Terry W. Glaspey. The first half of the book is a concise bio of the life of Lewis and the second half is a topical guide to Lewis as a thinker and writer. It helped give me a foundational grasp of Lewis when I was just venturing into his adult works.

  3. Joseph Kohm permalink
    November 28, 2012 11:51 am

    My favorite book about C.S. Lewis is The Narnian, by Alan Jacobs. Lots of interesting details that I hadn’t found in other resources.

  4. November 28, 2012 11:58 am

    If the question is, what is my favorite book about C. S. Lewis the man, then we’re limited to biographies, right? In that case, George Sayer’s Jack: A Life of C. S. Lewis is the best of the bunch. However, if we’re not limited to books about Lewis himself but can also include books about Lewis’s works, then Michael Ward’s Planet Narnia is my favorite book of Lewis criticism. Ward tasked himself to prove a radical and controversial claim: that there is a secret third level of meaning in the Narnia books which Lewis intended and which no one has seen until now. Ward argued logically and with encyclopedic detail that such a level does exist. I also have a favorite Lewis resource book: Janine Goffar’s The C. S. Lewis Index is a life saver for people who want to know what C. S. Lewis said about any of a gazillion topics and where he said it. Goffar lists hundreds of topics in alphabetical order and then tells us where to find what Lewis said about them in several of his non-fiction works and The Screwtape Letters.

  5. Paul Blackham permalink
    November 28, 2012 12:13 pm

    Jack by George Sayer is my favorite. Great perspective from a man who knew him as a student and later as a friend.

  6. November 28, 2012 3:06 pm

    C.S. Lewis In A Time Of War, by the late Justin Phillips, is an outstanding example of explaining both the words and the historical context of a particular Lewis book. It rightly sets the discussion about Mere Christianity in its original wartime context, and yields a balanced portrait of Lewis as a remarkably gifted, though imperfect, Christian.

  7. November 29, 2012 1:56 pm

    My favorite book about C.S. Lewis is “The Question of God,” by Armand Nicholi. It gives a brief biography of both Lewis and Sigmund Freud, contrasting their worldviews. It’s fascinating and demonstrates the depth of Lewis’ intellect and the vibrancy of his Christian faith and apologetic.

  8. November 29, 2012 2:01 pm

    All of CS Lewis books are treasures. I cannot in all honesty choose just one. He left a great gift to us. He encouraged us to think.

  9. Marshall Nunley permalink
    November 29, 2012 2:17 pm

    Jack is my favorite biography of C.S. Lewis. It gives you a perspective of how he viewed the world during his writings.

  10. November 29, 2012 3:51 pm

    George Sayer’s JACK is easily the very best biography on C. S. Lewis. Doug Gresham would state the same. But I have to thank ‘hannahlandis’ for her kind words about NOT A TAME LION by Terry Glaspey. I agree; for an introduction, it’s probably the best bio out there. But then again, I’m somewhat biased as Terry dedicated the book to me. For that reason alone, it is a treasure.

  11. November 29, 2012 7:44 pm

    I’ve read Jack by George Sayers and found it to be a wonderful read. However, I find myself time and time again going back to a recent biography: The Narnian, by Alan Jacobs. As an English teacher, I like Jacob’s work as it comes out of a thesis of Jack’s integrated imagination and how that is reveal in both his life and works.

  12. November 29, 2012 11:36 pm

    My favorite is The Magic Never Ends: The Life and Works of C.S. Lewis

  13. November 29, 2012 11:36 pm

    All My Road Before Me: The Diary of C. S. Lewis was really good

  14. Scott M permalink
    November 30, 2012 8:15 am

    I really enjoyed George Sayer’s book.Jack and David Downing’s book CS Lewis, The Most Reluctant Convert, although perhaps my favorite pseudo-biographical book is Lewis’ own Pilgrim’s Regress. It’s an admittedly tough read, but if you’ve studied philosophy, it’s chocked full of brilliant insights on philosophical positions and the Christian response and perspective.

  15. Christa Scott permalink
    November 30, 2012 2:01 pm

    “The question of God” – I have not been able to read it yet, but having read much by Lewis I read something by Campbell (who is a big fan of Freud) and longed to hear the two sides in honest debate. This book may be the closest I’ll be able to get.

  16. Dianne Mosley permalink
    November 30, 2012 4:30 pm

    Planet Narnia—-It caused me to reread books that I had already reread!

  17. December 1, 2012 11:28 am

    My favorite is C.S. Lewis: A Biography by Roger Green. It was one of the first biographies I read, but I still really like the way that things are told by those who personally knew Lewis.

  18. Sandy Smith permalink
    December 2, 2012 2:03 pm

    My favorite theology book is Mere Christianity! Everytime I read it I get something new and amazing out of it I didn’t before! My favorite fictional book remains Out of the Silent Planet! Love that entire series but Out of the Silent Planet remains my favorite because of the fact it is the beginning of the tale and I absolutely love Malacandra and would love to live there! 🙂

  19. Linda permalink
    December 4, 2012 12:11 am

    I really liked Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life

  20. Ann permalink
    December 4, 2012 12:12 am

    My favorite would have to be C.S. Lewis at the Breakfast Table, and Other Reminiscences

Leave a Reply

