Skip to content

Lewis Daily QUOTE: 2/2/14

February 2, 2014

I had been sharing during the month of January the C. S. Lewis Daily that BibleGateway features as one of their many devotionals available online or via email. Because you can choose to get it directly from them (click here to do that) and there didn’t seem to be must response from it here, I thought I might do something different. I forgot to begin it yesterday because of working on my latest “Jack in Retrospect” column that is only available at my larger EssentialCSLewis.com site.

So, what I’m going to do instead is share my daily Lewis quote that has been one of the many other features from EssentialCSLewis.com. You may ask why I still do some stuff here since beginning that site and the simple answer is there is no way to subscribe to getting email announcements of new content there like you can here.

Again, because I didn’t start it yesterday there are two today. The only thing I want to mention is that these quotes are usually related to something that happen in Lewis’s life, like the release of a book, article or talk.

“You can shut Him up for a fool, you can spit at Him and kill Him as a demon; or you can fall at His feet and call Him Lord and God.”

from: The Shocking Alternative
(Given as a talk on the BBC on 2/1/1942)

“Those that hate goodness are sometimes nearer than those that know nothing at all about it and think they have it already.”

from: Who Goes Home? or The Grand Divorce XIII
(Published in The Guardian on 2/2/1945)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2014 12:20 pm

    My husband and I are just catching up with all the quotes to date–and are liking them very much and appreciating your choosing them.

    • February 18, 2014 9:25 pm

      I’m glad to learn you are enjoying them. I often try to share quotations from Lewis that are lesser known.

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Devotionals, February 2, 2013 | The Eternal Life Series

Leave a Reply

