Skip to content

REMINDER: Christmas Lewis Prize Pack Giveaway

November 30, 2012

The following is a repeat of my post from Wednesday. If you’ve already given a comment to that post you’ve been entered there and don’t need to give another.  But if you haven’t already, you can give one either here or there.

Are you tired from all your Christmas shopping? Take a break and learn how you can win up to TWELVE (12) C.S. Lewis-themed (or related) books to add to your library. Please note, that as with my other giveaways, this contest is only open to residents of the U.S.  Also, the contest ends on Tuesday, December 4th at 6 p.m. (Eastern). With all that out of the way, let me first share what you can win before telling you how (details about each book are given at the end):

GOLD Prize
  1. The C.S. Lewis Reader’s Encyclopedia
  2. The Narnia Code
  3. Inside the Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  4. As One Devil to Another
  5. Looking for the King
  6. Into the Region of Awe
  7. The Most Reluctant Convert
  8. On the Shoulders of Hobbits
  9. C. S. Lewis: His Literary Achievement
  10. Speaking of Jack
  11. Views from Wake Forest (Essays on C.S. Lewis)
  12. Into the Wardrobe
  13. Two MP3-CDs containing All About Jack Interviews, Essay Chats and CSL Minutes
SILVER Prize
  1. Inside the Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  2. As One Devil to Another
  3. Looking for the King
  4. On the Shoulders of Hobbits
  5. C. S. Lewis: His Literary Achievement
  6. Hidden Story of Narnia
  7. C.S. Lewis Goes to Heaven (Study of The Great Divorce)
  8. Two MP3-CDs containing All About Jack Interviews, Essay Chats and CSL Minutes
 
BRONZE Prize
  1. Inside the Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  2. As One Devil to Another
  3. Looking for the King
  4. C. S. Lewis: His Literary Achievement
  5. Two MP3-CDs containing All About Jack Interviews, Essay Chats and CSL Minutes

“TWO Runner-Up” Winners

  • Each will win the Two MP3-CDs (and if someone doesn’t claim their prize pack they will get it!)

****HOW TO WIN****

Now that you know what you can win…here’s how you can win:

  • Leave a comment below telling me what your favorite book ABOUT C.S. Lewis is (optionally you can also say why). If you don’t have one then you can’t enter here. But have no fear you can still get a chance to win…if you do the following:
  • Visit this special page at my EssentialCSLewis.com site, the CONTEST page. Once there you will find out what to do to enter. Plus, you will be an instant winner of a special PDF booklet featuring the best of the C.S. Lewis Minute material (with some extras).
  • You can ALSO go to that page and make a second entry into the contest (if you were able to give an answer here).

Please note that prize packages are subject to change and they will arrive in several mailings and while every effort will be made to get it to you by Christmas there is no guarantee this will happen. ALSO, make sure you add this email address to you address book in case you win: lewisminute (at) gmail.com.

SPECIAL THANKS to the following for supplying the books: Dr. Bruce Edwards, Dr. David Downing, Dr. Devin Brown, Tyndale House, Moody Publishers and Bob Trexler from WingedLionPress.com

– – – – – –

Learn More About the Books (a link to the details at Amazon):

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori Jarvis permalink
    November 30, 2012 1:07 pm

    This is an easy one for me. “Mere Christianity” changed very much the way I view my life and approach to faith and does still today. His words have a clarity and practicality that resonates for me. He makes me understand things, and avoids the all-too-common religious phrasing that annoys me. I will also mention that one essay, “Mediation in a Woodshed” shed true light (pardon the pun). I reread both “Mere” and the essay occasionally to refocus and reassess. His words are a gift, and and an aid to those looking to achieve greater understanding and love of our Creator.

  2. December 1, 2012 12:44 pm

    The answer is: Jack: A Life of C.S. Lewis. This was the first biography I read and I continue to go back to it for the wealth of personal information and stories that George Sayer records for us.

  3. December 1, 2012 12:53 pm

    “The Quotable Lewis” – somehow, GOD gave CS Lewis a revelation of so many truths we are richer to consider them in our own lives
    .

  4. Ethan Walker permalink
    December 1, 2012 1:40 pm

    I have to say of “The C.S. Lewis Reader’s Encyclopedia” is my favorite. It is awesome when I need to find something, whether I know its from Lewis, or when I just want to know if he had anything to do with a certain topic, I can always find it in there.

  5. Emily Wert permalink
    December 1, 2012 1:46 pm

    For a book ABOUT Lewis, I would say Jack’s Life: The Life Story of C.S. Lewis by Douglas Gresham, Lewis’ stepson and son of Joy Davidman. I really enjoyed Douglas’ perspective – a more intimate, insider’s view of Lewis. My favorite book(s) BY Lewis are The Chronicles of Narnia, having read them aloud (interactively, reader’s theater style) with my 4 children (2 boys and 2 girls) as they were growing up. If I have to choose only one Narnia story, it would be The Magician’s Nephew, since my husband and I took on the persona of King Frank and Queen Helen (the cabby and his wife) when we hosted parties for the openings of the 3 Narnia movies to date.

  6. Debi permalink
    December 1, 2012 5:39 pm

    Planet Narnia – made me think in a different way about the books I’ve read so many times. We read it just after reading his book about medieval cosmology so it made great sense.

  7. Shad E permalink
    December 3, 2012 11:56 am

    Jack’s Life: The Life Story of C.S. Lewis By Douglas Gresham. Very compelling and a careful examination of the personal side of his step-father. Gresham’s writing style is also very enjoyable.

    • Lexberofc@gmail.com permalink
      December 4, 2012 5:42 pm

      My new book will be the Screwtape Letters, and I think I’m in for some fun and some big spiritual lessons. I am just sorry that I have come to this news so late in my life. I think with some of Mr Lewis’s words and inspiration my life could have a bit more joyfull and peaceful. Better late than never!

      • Lexberofc@gmail.com permalink
        December 4, 2012 5:46 pm

        p.s. I love my quilt. It’s better than any picture I could post of myself..it depicts my life; sort of a patchwork of moments,days,and years

  8. December 3, 2012 1:52 pm

    O my! I am so new to CS Lewis. I find his works so understandable and familiar that I feel as if He is speaking to me. I guess my favorite is the Great Divorce because I just finished it. It made me cry to think how simple sin actually is . Until I read this I never understood the meaning of “we are all sinners”, and I am a cradle catholic with 12 Years of religious training. I am newly in love with Jesus and Mr. Lewis or Jack as he wanted to me known.

  9. December 4, 2012 9:17 am

    I’m just starting a lengthy study of CS Lewis and the Narnia books with my family. I’m reading a book called The Narnia – The Life and Imagination of C.S. Lewis. I like it so far and it seems to be a book that I can use with the kids.

  10. Chris Holland permalink
    December 4, 2012 9:43 am

    “The Hidden Story of Narnia” would be it at present for me. I like “behind the scenes”-types of things and I like how this book takes that perspective started with that young girl’s letter to Lewis and his response. So much depth Lewis has and then how it got added to. Wonderful stuff!

Leave a Reply

